In October, 2011, California became the first state to ban tanning beds for teens under 18.
Current Tanning Bed Bills Under Consideration in New England
SD 1565, an act further regulating tanning facilities is sponsored by State Senator James Timilty. The bill would prohibit use of indoor tanning facilities for anyone under age 18
Summary of the bill
- Prohibits use of indoor tanning devices for anyone under age 18
- Prohibits anyone under age 18 from working at an indoor tanning facility
- Requires that all facilities are licensed by the local board of health
The Senate approved and sent to the House a bill (S.2211) that would prohibit anyone under age 16 from using a tanning bed without a written order from a physician. Teens age 16 and 17 would be permitted to tan with parental permission. Status: This Bill died in the House on 12/31/14 and a new Bill will be filed shortly.
Originally S. 1105 Banning tanning beds to minors, this bill came out of the Committee on Public Health as S.1904
Amendments include: No tanning facility shall employ a person under 18 years of age as an operator or permit an employee under 18 years of age to operate a tanning device. No person under 16 years of age shall use a tanning device except upon the written order of a physician.
No person 16 years of age to 17 years of age, inclusive, shall use a tanning device unless accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. The facility owner or operator must indicate that such parent or guardian has read and understood the warnings required under the provisions of section 209. For every use of a tanning facility, the parent or legal guardian of such person must sign, at the tanning facility and in the presence of the tanning facility owner or operator, the written consent form required in section 209.
An Act further regulating tanning facilities: The committee on Public Health to whom was referred the petition (accompanied by bill, Senate, No. 1105) of James E. Timilty, James J. Dwyer, Daniel A. Wolf, Timothy R. Madden and other members of the General Court for legislation to regulate tanning facilities reports the accompanying bill entitled “An Act further regulating tanning facilities” (Senate, No. 1904).
Sponsored by: Joint Committee on Public Health.
Referred to: Senate Committee on Ethics and Rules
Status: 10/31/2013 Senate Bill reported favorably by committee and referred to the committee on Senate Ethics and Rules
HB 1351 did not make it to a vote on the house floor and can not be brought up again until next session (3/14).
January 2015 House Bill 136 moved to the Committee on Public Health and a public hearing was held. The Bill was moved to Sub-Committee from the Public Health Committee. It unanimously passed the House Committee on Public Health and will go to a floor vote of the House. Then the Bill will go through the senate.
March 2015 the New Hampshire House of Representatives voted 199-162 in support of HB 136, which would prohibit minors under 18 from using indoor tanning devices. Here are a couple of things you can do to help make sure this bill makes in through the NH Senate and gets signed into law by the Governor:
1. Submit testimony in support of the legislation to the Senate Committee taking up the bill.
2. Write a column or letter to the editor in support of the bill for a NH newspaper.
3. Share our forthcoming request for New Hampshire grassroots advocates to contact their State Senators.
Written testimony can still be submitted to the Committee on Public Health. For more information, visit https://legiscan.com/NH/bill/HB136/2015.
Bill filed LD 123. Public Hearing to be held on February 10, 2015. Written testimony can be sent to:
The Honorable Eric Brakey
Chair, Joint Committee on Health and Human Services
Maine State Legislature
c/o Legislative Information Office
100 State House Station
August, ME 04333
Current State Bills
Connecticut: CT Public Act No. 06-195
Passed Senate Bill 872. Originally filed to restrict the use of tanning beds by persons under the age of 18. The bill passed and was enacted with the amendment to restrict the use of tanning beds by persons under the age of 17
Maine 10-144 Dept. of Human Services ch. 223 12A (3)(f)
Age restriction under 14; under 18 Parent/guardian must accompany children between 14-15. Parent Must Accompany Minor; Prohibits minors under 14. Requires in person parent/guardian consent for minors under 18 which is effective for 1 year.
Parent Must Sign Written Permission: People under the age of 18 must present a written consent form signed by a parent/guardian; parents/guardians must have been supplied with standard warning materials.
Massachusetts: H02372 Prohibits minors under the age of 14 from using a tanning facility. Minors 14-17 must have parent/guardian sign a consent form at the tanning facility in the presence of operator.
NH Rev. Stat. Ann.
Parent/guardian must accompany children under the age of 14. Parent must accompany minors between 14 and 18 for their initial use.
A licensed physician must authorize use of the device for minors under 14. A parent/guardian must sign written consent to use the facility and verify the age of the minor for those 14 to 18 years old. A parent/guardian must sign the consent form in the presence of the operator. Written permission is only good for 12 visits. The minor must present age verification when using the device.
Department of Health Rules and Regulations for the Registration of Tanning Facilities Part III; Sec. 9.5
Minors under the age of 18 may not use the device unless a parent/guardian has signed a consent form stating that they have read and understand the risks. The consent shall be provided in the presence of a facility staff member. Infants and other minors are not allowed in the room with adults who are tanning.
H 157 Prohibits the use of tanning facilities to anyone under the age of 18. Bill passed and signed by the Governor.